Instagram updated to version 5.0 that brings Instagram Direct feature. Instagram Direct is a private photo-sharing and messaging service within the Instagram application. Now users will be able to send each other private chat-like messages, which can include photos or videos. Instagram Direct lets users choose who they send photos and videos to.
Instagram Direct is a whole new way to send photo and video messages to friends, that allows users to send a photo or video to a select group of people. Here we are sharing point-by-point features of Instagram Direct that you want to know:
When you open Instagram, you’ll now see a new icon in the top right corner of your home feed. Tap it to see photos and videos that people have sent directly to you.
At the top of the share screen, you’ll see two new tabs on the top of the post: Followers and Direct. You have the option to share with your followers (“Followers”) or to send to specific people (“Direct”).
Now, users who follow each other on Instagram will be able to send each other private chat-like messages, which can include texts, photos or videos. The people you’ve sent the post to will get a notification.
You can send a post to up to 15 people or just to one person with Instagram Direct.
With Direct, you can choose a specific friend and type a special message, and that goes only to your friend.
You can not send just text-only messages to each other. Each conversation needs to start with a photo to start the chat function.
You also can’t tag people or use hashtags in these shared posts.
Posts sent privately with someone won’t appear in feed, search or on your profile.
You will also find real-time likes and chat within the app. Users can also like direct photo messages, and chat can ensue from there. You can chat privately one-on-one or with a group of people.
Posts sent with Instagram Direct can’t be shared through Instagram to other sites like Facebook or Twitter.
If you send a post to someone who doesn’t follow you, your post will go to their requests queue. If someone accepts your request, your post will go to their direct posts the next time you share directly with them. Posts that stay in the requests queue may become unavailable. The same applies for posts sent to you. If someone you’re not following sends you a photo or video on Instagram, it will go to your pending requests rather than a received message in your private inbox so you can decide if you want to view it.
If someone sends you a direct message while you’re browsing the app, a badge pops up on top of the Inbox button.
You will also get notifications to find out who’s seen your photo or video, see who’s liked it and watch your recipients commenting in real time as the conversation unfolds.
Everyone that you’ve sent a photo or video to can see its likes or comments, even if they don’t follow each other.
When you delete a sent post, it’ll also be deleted from Instagram. The people you’ve sent it to won’t be able to see it.
You will have also some privacy options. You can ignore and block people if you want to. If you don’t want someone to send a post to you, you can ignore their post in your direct posts by tapping x or you can block that person. Blocked person can’t view your photos/videos or search for your Instagram account. People aren’t notified when you block them. You can also tap Ignore All to ignore all requests at one time.
Watch the Video preview of Instagram Direct: